Author Topic: Roost Cafe and Coffee shop trying to open on Oak St?  (Read 28442 times)

mtraininjax

Re: Roost Cafe and Coffee shop trying to open on Oak St?
« Reply #75 on: November 18, 2015, 03:12:44 PM »

Amen, no one is against another restaurant in Riverside or Avondale or Brooklyn, the issue here is that the ROOST owners LIED to the residents, the City and fellow businesses. They submitted a plan for 60 seats, then decided to change it to 150 using the same zoning.

If I was a resident near there, I would not trust them either.

And now this has made its way to the JBJ

Residents of Riverside come out against planned Roost restaurant in Oak Street building - Jacksonville Business Journal http://snip.ly/E4Va
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 03:41:51 PM by mtraininjax »

BoldCityRealist

« Reply #76 on: November 18, 2015, 03:44:59 PM »
RAP & Co are spearheading this anti-development movement (from what I saw on this new FB group "P.R.O.U.D."), surprise, surprise. Funny thing, I've seen RAP folks climb out of their big ol' honkin Amerikan SUV at Snap, the fitness center they live three or four blocks down from.

No wonder they are so concerned about the cars!

I lived off College and walked blocks to Five Points/Oak St all the time, in the sunshine, in the rain, in the cold. Because that's what you do in a walkable neighborhood. This type of infill will FORCE people (like the elite folks of RAP) to WALK or BIKE to places. Isn't that a crazy thought? I now live in Avondale and bike to Snap instead - screw cars.

Who knows, maybe all of this infill will force the city to start looking at better mass transit solutions when Riverside is thriving with bars, cafes, restaurants all around and cars can't fit any more!

Sorry RAP/Anti Development people, I welcome businesses coming into these beautiful abandoned buildings and creating some new wonderful content for me to WALK to.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 04:02:44 PM by BoldCityRealist »

BoldCityRealist